Additional burning restrictions in place for northern Minnesota

Additional burning restrictions are now active for the eastern portion of Roseau County and all of Beltrami, Cook, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, and St. Louis counties, within state jurisdiction.

Burning restrictions remain in effect for Cass, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena counties.

In areas affected by the restrictions, campfires are only allowed in established fire rings at a home, cabin, campground, or resort; no campfires allowed in remote or dispersed campsites or backcountry lands; no fireworks may be ignited on any public or private lands, with additional restrictions within cities; and burning permits will not be issued for brush or yard waste.

The burning restrictions will remain in effect until terminated by the DNR commissioner, when weather and environmental conditions improve.

Much of northern Minnesota is in a severe drought.

Wildfires have burned more than 34,000 acres in the state so far this year.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University. You can follow along with Larissa's live tweets of meetings and events on Twitter!

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area