Beltrami County passes new commissioner district map 3-2

The Beltrami County Board passed a redistricted commissioner map 3-2 during their meeting Tuesday.

Proposal Two gained the support of Commissioners Tim Sumner, Reed Olson and Richard Anderson.

Anderson expressed that he felt the new map would best serve the citizens he represents.

Commissioners Craig Gaasvig and Jim Lucachick voted against the measure, citing that the maps shift too much of the population.

Lucachick will be drawn out of District 5 under this proposal from his home in Turtle Lake Township, and in a commissioner report at the end of the meeting, said he would lobby the legislature for a super-majority vote on these types of decisions in the future.

Under Proposal Two, all commissioners will run for election this year. Commissioner elections must be staggered to alternate election cycles, with districts 1 & 3 running for their normal four-year cycle this year, and the rest running for two-year terms.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University. You can follow along with Larissa's live tweets of meetings and events on Twitter!

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area