Bemidji City Council filing begins Tuesday

The filing period for City of Bemidji Elected Officers will begin at 8 a.m. Tuesday, May 19,  and end on Tuesday, June 2 at 5 p.m.

There are five of the seven council seats up for re-election, including Ward 1, currently occupied by Michael Meehlhause; Ward 2, vacant; Ward 3, occupied by Ron Johnson; Ward 5, which Nancy Erickson currently holds. Also up for grabs is the Mayor’s position, a two-year term.

Current Mayor Rita Albrecht does not plan to seek re-election, as she is pursuing the Senate District 5 seat against incumbent Republican Justin Eichorn.

The rest of the council serves four-year terms. Ward 2 will be a special election: if two people file, the election will be held in conjunction with the statewide primary in August. If more than two people run, it will serve as a primary with the general election held in conjunction with the General Election this November.

In a first, the city will accept electronic candidate filing, in a law passed for elections this year amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

The filing officer must accept electronic submissions of affidavits of candidacy, nominating petitions including petition signatures collected electronically, and requests that write-in candidates be counted. There is a $5 filing fee, and questions can be submitted to the City Clerk Michelle Miller.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University. You can follow along with Larissa's live tweets of meetings and events on Twitter!

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area