City primary results approved

The Bemidji City Council in their role as the canvassing board approved Tuesday’s primary results.

Eighty-five voters were registered on election day, 22 voters registered absentee, and almost half of all ballots received were absentee.

City Clerk Michelle Miller said that with the high turn out of absentee voting, election judges had extra time to prepare for those who opted for in-person voting.

In the Bemidji Mayoral Race, Jorge Prince and Michael Meehlhause will advance to the general, Audrey Thayer and Joe Gould advance in Ward 1, Ron Johnson and Greg Kuhn will advance in Ward 3, Nancy Erickson and Don Heinonen will advance in Ward 5, and Josh Peterson will be sworn in as Ward 2 council member Monday.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers events and issues in north-central Minnesota, which include local government, crime, courts, education, environment, and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University and received her degree in 2018. Larissa, native to the great state of New York, grew up in Bemidji and enjoys spending her spare time with her son Logan, daughter Brigid, and pets Vincent and Piper. She also loves reading, Star Trek, and gardening... badly.

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area