First day of candidate filing for city, county and state seats

Today is the first day of candidate filing for city, county and statewide elections.

All five Beltrami County Commissioners will need to run for election this year under the redistricting plan they adopted in April.

Districts 1 and 3 will hold elections for four-year terms, with Districts 2, 4 and 5 filing for a two-year term this year.

The lawsuit challenging the county’s redistricting results has not yet been seen before a judge, and the commissioners will discuss the case today in a closed session.

Commissioner Jim Lucachick, who was drawn out of his current District 5 under the proposal adopted, is one of the petitioners in the case.

In the City of Bemidji, three council seats are up for election.

Ward 2’s Josh Peterson and At-large Dan Jourdain both won special elections after vacancies, so the two positions will be up for a regular four-year term this year.

Ward 4 is also up for election this year, and the incumbent Emelie Rivera has already submitted her affidavit.

To file with the City, potential candidates must submit an affidavit of candidacy with the City Clerk.

To file for county seats, visit the Beltrami County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office.

Affidavits must be submitted to the appropriate persons between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays through May 31.

Regular office hours for City Hall are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., but a notice from City Clerk Michelle Miller indicates filing will be open until 5 p.m. on May 31.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University. You can follow along with Larissa's live tweets of meetings and events on Twitter!

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area