Incumbents successful in Beltrami County races

In Beltrami County races, where all five commissioner seats were up along with the Sheriff’s position, incumbents in the races prevailed.

With all precincts reporting unofficial results, Craig Gaasvig is projected to keep District 1 leading Mark Morrissey by more than 17 percentage points; Richard Anderson led his opponent Brian Merschman by nearly 20 percentage points in District 3; and Tim Sumner led his opponent Joe Neft by nearly 17 points in District 4.

Joe Gould led Don Heinonen by nearly 30 points for the District 2 race, and John Carlson topped Sandy Hennum in District 5 by nearly 11 percent of the vote.

Jason Riggs received more than 37 percent more votes than his opponent Jarrett Walton in the Sheriff’s Race.

All five commissioner seats were up for election this year after redistricting.

Districts 1 and 3 were vying for four-year terms, while districts 2, 4, and 5 were seeking special two-year terms.

John Carlson

Joe Gould

Richard Anderson

Tim Sumner

Craig Gaasvig

Jason Riggs

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University. You can follow along with Larissa's live tweets of meetings and events on Twitter!

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area