Meet the Candidates for MN Senate District 5

Featured photo, from left: Rita Albrecht and Justin Eichorn. Graphic courtesy of Eric Callagan.

Minnesota’s Senate District 5 represents a portion of Beltrami, Itasca and Cass Counties.

Incumbent Republican Senator Justin Eichorn faces a challenge for the seat from DFL-endorsed candidate and current Bemidji mayor Rita Albrecht.


Rita Albrecht has served as Bemidji’s mayor for the last eight years, and also represented Bemidji’s Ward 4. She and her husband owned a Bemidji A&W restaurant, and Albrecht recently retired from her position of Northwest Planning Manager for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.


Justin Eichorn was born and raised in Grand Rapids, and has been involved with small business for most of his life. Eichorn has served in the Minnesota Senate for the past four years, and serves in a variety of Senate committees that range from environment to elder care.

Minnesota’s Senate Districts are each divided into two House Districts (A & B). Below are the maps for Minnesota’s 5A and 5B districts.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University.

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area