Two arrested after pursuit

By: News Director Larissa Donovan

PARK RAPIDS– Two West Fargo residents were arrested after a pursuit that ended in Hubbard County Friday morning.

According to a release from the Becker County Sheriff’s Office, they received a report of a theft of gasoline from the Orton’s in Audubon at approximately 9:39 a.m.

The vehicle was described as a black Jeep with no license plates, and deputies met the vehicle near the intersection of U.S. Highway 10 and U.S. HIghway 59.

When a deputy attempted to stop the vehicle, the suspect Jeep turned east on State Highway 34 where the pursuit took place, reaching speeds of over 100 miles per hour.

The chase ended shortly after the Hubbard County line, where Hubbard County deputies were able to find the vehicle three miles south of Park Rapids. The Jeep’s occupants were tracked by a Park Rapids K9 unit in a wooded area.

The driver, 22-year-old Brandon Jacobson and the passenger, 20-year-old Heather Badar, were taken into custody on numerous charges. Badar was wanted on two North Dakota warrants, and Jacobson was wanted on a Minnesota Department of Corrections warrant.

Heather Marissa Badar, 20, of West Fargo. Photo courtesy of the Becker County Sheriff’s Office.
Brandon Jeffrey Jacobson, 22, of West Fargo. Photo courtesy of the Becker County Sheriff’s Office.

Additional charges for both are pending. The MN State Patrol, Park Rapids Police Department and the MN DNR also assisted. 

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area