Meet the Candidates: Bemidji City Council At Large

Featured photo, from left: Dave Larson, Linda Lemmer, Daniel Jourdain and Roger Schmidt. Graphic courtesy of Eric Callagan.

The Bemidji City Council at large seat was vacated earlier this summer, when Jim “Doc” Thompson posted his resignation. Since the term ends Dec. 31, 2022, a special election was called. All residents in the city of Bemidji vote for the at large seat, with the initial election falling on the General Election on Tuesday, Nov. 3.


Dave Larson is returning to Bemidji City Council politics. Larson has experience as both mayor at council at large, and was one of the founding members of Ruby’s Pantry-Bemidji. Larson is a retired architect and is active in his church.


Linda Lemmer has served on numerous city committees and is active with the “Old Bemidji High School-Remembered” initiative that restored a historic archway of the old school building and erected it at the new high school site. Lemmer ran a campaign in 2017 to fill a vacant Ward 4 seat.


Daniel Jourdain is a small business owner and is a high school basketball referee and has volunteered with the Boys and Girls Club. This is his first political campaign, and at 35, wishes to bring a more youthful perspective into the Bemidji City Council.


Roger Schmidt has lived in the area all his life, and is a National Guard veteran. Schmidt is a member of the local Masons and Shriners clubs. Schmidt also served on the Bemidji School Board for seven years in the 1980s.

Larissa Donovan is the News Director for the stations of Paul Bunyan Broadcasting and has been, almost without interruption, since Election Day 2016. She covers all the beats in north-central Minnesota, such as local government, crime, education, environment and social issues. She studied communications at Bemidji State University. You can follow along with Larissa's live tweets of meetings and events on Twitter!

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area