Unofficial results for Beltrami County and City of Bemidji primaries

Results were posted for local primary races more than three hours after polls closed in Minnesota. Some results weren’t posted until closer to four hours after polls closed.

Don Heinonen

Joe Gould

In the Beltrami County District 2 race, Joe Gould won more than 52 percent of the vote and will advance to the general election along with Don Heinonen, with 19.91 percent of the vote.

Gould earned 456 votes and Heinonen had 173.



In the Sheriff’s race, Chief Deputy Jarrett Walton and Captain Jason Riggs, who both work for the Beltrami County Sheriff’s Office, will advance to the general election this November. Jason Riggs had more than 54 percent of the vote.

Jason Riggs

Of the 27,747 registered voters in Beltrami County, 5,340 participated in primary elections. That represents about a 19 percent voter turnout.

Jarrett Walton

Incumbent Dan Jourdain in the Bemidji City Council at-large race did not gain enough votes to advance to the general election to hold his seat.

Current Ward 3 council member Ron Johnson gained more than 35 percent of the vote in the at-large contest, and will join Ward 1’s Audrey Thayer in the general election, who earned more than 27 percent of the vote.

Johnson had 535 votes and Thayer had 412.

Of the 7,987 registered voters in the City of Bemidji, 1,487 participated in the primary election, or roughly 18 percent voter turnout.

Ron Johnson

All results posted last night are considered unofficial until they are canvassed by respective local government units. The Bemidji City Council announced a meeting of the canvassing board on Aug. 12.

Audrey Thayer

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area