Daily Archives: January 8, 2020


Koch named AIRC director

Chrissy Koch has been named the new executive director of the Bemidji State University American Indian Resource Center. According to a release, Koch is a BSU alumna and has been the center’s outreach specialist since July. She hopes to draw on her own experiences as a student, her heritage and her strong community connections to…


Two men plead guilty to Red Lake robbery

Two men have entered guilty pleas to the robbery of a Red Lake restaurant last May. According to a release from the U.S. Attorney’s Office, 26-year-old Robert Jourdain, Sr. entered his plea yesterday and 30-year-old Courtney Barrett, Jr. entered his plea on Dec. 19. According to those pleas and documents filed in court, Jourdain and…


Editorial Column: Local Government and Local News

EDITORIAL COLUMN: LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND LOCAL NEWS   As many of us have heard by now, the Beltrami County Board of Commissioners took a historic vote in chambers regarding refugee resettlement yesterday afternoon. See that story here. Many felt blindsided by this action, wherever they stood on the issue. As a journalist, it is not…


Beltrami County votes to not accept refugees

The Beltrami County Board of Commissioners voted 3 to 2 to not allow refugees to resettle in the county. There was no public hearing or comments from the public accepted prior to the vote, but a large crowd attended the meeting. Commissioner Tim Sumner as well as Commissioner Reed Olson voted against the motion, which…


Bemidji Blotter for Tuesday, Jan. 7

The following is a summary of incidents the Bemidji Police Department and Beltrami County Sheriff’s Office responded to on Tuesday, Jan. 7. BEMIDJI POLICE DEPARTMENT Fraud, 2:24 p.m. Officers responded to a report of check fraud on the 1600 block of Paul Bunyan Dr. NW. Suspect arrested. Assist, 11:46 a.m. Agency assist on the 600…

© 2020 HBI Radio Bemidji, LLC d/b/a Paul Bunyan Broadcasting 502 Beltrami Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area